Posted by: Phil Anderson | November 30, 2012

Why do I need a blog, and why should anyone read it?

There are two very good questions that I’ve been told are wise to think about before starting a blog. (Actually there are a lot more than two, but the rest of them aren’t very interesting to read about.) Since this is my first post, I thought I’d share my answers to these questions. Maybe after I’ve blogged for awhile these answers will change, but here’s what I’m thinking right now.

Why do I need a blog?

I like to write. I like to make up stories, create characters, and think about how people react to the world they live in. I like to invent new places and imagine what it would be like to live there. I like to get inside a character’s head and look at things from another point of view.

I also like words and language. I like putting them together to create an image or thought or feeling. I’m not good at live conversation, because I like to pore over my words and arrange them just so. It takes time and it’s not easy, but when it comes out right I love it.

I’ve been told (and I’ve experienced) that the more you write the better writer you become. I’m not good at keeping a private writing journal or diary; it’s too easy to procrastinate or blow it off since I’m the only one that will know. But with a public blog people will (hopefully) come on a regular basis looking for something new to read. I expect that that obligation and accountability will help me write at least something on a somewhat regular schedule.

Now for the second question:

Why should anyone read my blog?

Besides writing I also like to read, and I expect that people would read my blog for the same reason I read the things I’m interested in.

I like to be entertained. Some things are just fun to read, or to hear, or to watch.

I like to be educated and informed. There are a lot of really interesting things that I don’t know anything about. There are also things I think I know about that other people see differently than I do. Sometimes I like to know what other people think about the things I like.

I also like to be inspired. A really good book or movie or TV show will stay with you long after you’ve finished it. You want to know what else happened in that world or what other adventures those characters had. And when the people who create the things I love share some insight into how and why they do what they do, it inspires me to put just as much thought and care into my own creations.

So I hope that you who read my blog will be entertained, informed, and inspired.

That’s my plan and my goal. Please give comments below. What do you like about the blogs you read? What makes something interesting, entertaining, or inspiring?

Responses

  1. […] About a week ago one of my daughters asked, “Why should anyone read your blog?” It’s a good question, and the simple answer was to refer her back to my very first post: Why do I need a blog, and why should anyone read it? […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

