Posted by: Phil Anderson | December 8, 2012

Accountant and Author

A lot my friends and acquaintances are probably surprised I have a blog. I’m a quiet person who doesn’t say much out loud, and I’m sure many people think of me as just a “numbers guy.” At work of course they know I’m an accountant, and at church I’m (among other things) the treasurer. Only my family knows the truth.

I was always full of imagination. As a child I read avidly and never cared for sports. I preferred make-believe and pretending games. And my brothers will tell you that as the oldest I generally controlled the story line.

My bedroom was in the basement of the house we lived in from second grade to ninth. It contained an imaginary secret passageway, and at bedtime I would explore the maze of tunnels under the yard, each path leading to a cavern with a fantastical setting inside. Some of the places I visited, I had read about in books from the library, but many were of my own creation.

I drew maps and sketched pictures with notes and descriptions, but I rarely wrote anything out formally. This was in the seventies and eighties, without the ubiquity of computers, and writing paragraphs on paper was too hard. I was always thinking of things I wanted to go back and add, but when the paper is already half full of words, there’s no neat and easy way to insert anything. Creating was fun, writing was not.

Then as I got into high school and started thinking of college, I had to decide what I wanted to be. As much as I enjoyed being creative, I didn’t have the confidence to believe I could make a living that way. My dad was an accountant (still is), and I was good at math, so that’s what I chose to be. I elected for a business major my freshman year of college, and I never seriously thought about changing it. Creativity was a hobby not a career.

I hope it doesn’t sound like I made the wrong choice. I don’t have any regrets, and I love my job and the people I work with. Perhaps if I knew then what I know now I might have chosen differently, but I didn’t know it then. And I only know it now because of the life I’ve lived so far, and the experiences that have shaped me and helped me grow.

So I’m an accountant by day and a writer by night. And I have computers, which make the mechanics of writing so much easier. I’m not discontented with where I am and where I’ve been, but I’m expanding my horizons in a new old direction. And I hope you’ve enjoyed seeing a bit of the winding path I’ve traveled.

Responses

  1. […] can’t imagine doing it. My handwriting is illegible (because I don’t practice) and I mentioned before that I like to edit as I go, and that’s a frustrating process on paper. I don’t know […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

