Posted by: Phil Anderson | March 17, 2013

Status Update – How Am I Doing?

There are a lot of statistics out there about blogging. I don’t know where they come from; maybe people are just making them up. But I saw one recently that actually encouraged me: “Up to 80% of blogs are abandoned within the first month.” That’s encouraging because I’ve already lasted more than three months now. That puts me in the top 20% of all bloggers. Of course I’ve also read that there are over 100 million blogs in the internet, so I’m one out of as many as 20 million who are persevering.

So after fifteen weekly posts, I thought it might be a good time to evaluate myself, to see if I can identify what’s working and what’s not working. I can divide my posts into three general categories: my faith and how it influences my writing, books and other storytelling media that inspire me, and short stories and samples of my writing. My website statistics indicate that interest is divided fairly evenly between these categories; no particular style of post is noticeably more popular or less popular. That doesn’t give me much to work with.

My next best resource is those of you who read my blog. Your feedback can be very helpful and would be much appreciated:

  • Do you check in regularly every week, or just randomly when there’s nothing else to do online?
  • What are you hoping to read when you come here? What stuff do you ignore? What do you want to see more of? Is there anything you haven’t seen that you think I should add?
  • Have you shared this blog with other people? If not, why not? If you have, what was it that prompted you to pass it on?

If you have any feedback, advice, or other responses, I prefer that you leave a comment below so that others can join in the conversation. If you’d rather send a private e-mail you can contact me at ScribeofTheran@gmail.com

Responses

  1. Hey Phil – Have feed following via Google Reader. I’ve especially enjoyed your columns on the nature of a writer creating vs. being God.

    Regards, Andrew

    • Thanks, Andrew

      I’ve got a few more ideas on that subject, but I’m still working through them. I’m not completely sure they make sense yet.

  2. I have enjoyed reading your blog. It has given insight about you and what you believe as well as giving a means of instruction on writing. Your writing has been interesting and enjoyable to read. It is easy to follow as I receive an email update each time you post as a reminder.

    Bob


Leave a Reply

Categories

