Posted by: Phil Anderson | March 31, 2013

April Fools’ Day ramble

The other night I was lying in bed and thinking as I drifted off to sleep about what to write for my next blog entry which was scheduled for Easter Sunday, and I thought about Jesus Christ’s amazing love and sacrificial death to provide salvation from our insurmountable burden of sin and his glorious resurrection giving victory over the power of death, but I couldn’t figure out how to work all that into a blog entry, since I don’t intend to sermonize on my blog because it’s a place where I write about writing and occasionally about how my faith influences my writing, and I wasn’t able to make that connection with the events of Easter, but then I made another connection, which was the fact that although I would post the entry on the night of Easter, most people would not read it until the next day, which would be April Fools’ Day, so I decided to just mention Easter and then move on, changing direction much like I’ve done in the novel I’m currently working on, which I actually finished writing over a year ago, but as I was working on the second draft I realized that the entire climactic battle was illogical and contrived, so I’ve thrown out the last several chapters and I’m rewriting them, and although it was difficult to lose all that work, in the end it’s going to be a much better resolution and it will lead directly into the sequel much more smoothly, so I’m glad that lightbulb of an idea came on even though the lightbulb in my lamp wouldn’t light and even blew a fuse when I tried to plug it in, which was especially disappointing because I had just spent time fixing it the afternoon before and it had worked then but it didn’t work at bedtime and I couldn’t figure out why until I realized that while I was repairing it I had taken the paper sleeve out of the brass casing and now both the positive and negative wires were touching the casing, so in order to fix it I just had to replace the paper sleeve inside the casing, but I couldn’t do it right then because by that time it was after midnight and I would have to wait until the next day to finish the job, much like the big project I had been trying to finish at work on Friday, which was supposed to be done by the end of the month, but I had overestimated how much I could accomplish in the time that was available, and I had also not factored in the half-day holiday for Good Friday so I didn’t get it done on time and I’ll have to jump on it right away Monday morning, which is also April Fools’ Day, so who knows what unexpected things that day will bring.

Responses

  1. Wow! That is exactly how chris and I talk all the time… Sometimes we even get to a point! 🙂

  2. […] I use whatever free time I have (driving the kids to school, standing in the shower, drifting off to sleep at night) to think about what I want to write, so that when I sit down at my keyboard the ideas are ready to […]

  3. […] I use whatever free time I have (driving the kids to school, standing in the shower, drifting off to sleep at night) to think about what I want to write, so that when I sit down at my keyboard the ideas are ready to […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

