Posted by: Phil Anderson | May 19, 2013

Free Pirate Loot!

Sometimes I wonder what I’m doing. Am I really cut out to be a writer? The grand events and scenes that I envision often seem bland when I describe them on paper. I struggle to present clearly the thoughts and feelings of my characters. The perfect words and phrases elude me as I attempt to communicate my story.

When I start to get discouraged, it often helps for me to go back and read some of what I’ve written in the past and remind myself of how well I can write. I don’t mean that everything I’ve written is inspiring; I admit that this blog generally does not exemplify my best work. But when the imagination and emotion and language do come together, it’s a thrill and makes all the hard work and frustration worthwhile.

I have some writing that I’m very proud of, including my play, Nothing But the Truth, and my novel, Pirate Journey. I get excited by the plots of both stories as they unfold, knowing what’s ahead. I laugh at David McNeely and Mrs. Elias and the predicaments they create in Nothing But the Truth. And I honestly tear up almost every time I reread the emotional final chapter of Pirate Journey.

It seems that reading my best work is the most effective way to convince myself (and others) of the quality I’m capable of, so I’m making a special offer. For one week only (from Monday, May 20 to Friday, May 24) I am giving away the Kindle edition of Pirate Journey for free. My hope is that as many people as possible will download it, read it, enjoy it, and share it with someone else.

pirate journey cvr final.indd

If you don’t have a Kindle, you don’t have to feel left out. There are free Kindle apps for all Apple products and Android devices, smartphones, tablets, and even the old-fashioned PC.

So enjoy the free ebook and tell as many people as you can about it. And as always, please leave comments below. I want to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

Categories

