Posted by: Phil Anderson | March 9, 2014

Maintaining Momentum

It’s a difficult thing to get something started again once you’ve stopped. Like trying to get my minivan up our icy driveway the past several months. If I stop partway up, I’ll never make it to the top without backing out into the street and starting over.

Six years ago I started exercising. Just a few sit-ups and push-ups, no equipment and nothing fancy. And I did it faithfully three times a week for almost six years. Then just before Christmas I decided I had earned a break. We were having work done on our house, including new carpeting, and my usual exercise spot was inconvenient. So I stopped exercising, just for a little while. Now it’s three months later and I haven’t started again. I’m going to eventually. I’ve thought about it, even planned to several times, but when my alarm rings in the morning I decide to put it off a little longer.

I’m having a similar problem right now with my writing. I finished the second draft of my manuscript several months ago and set it aside for a while. In the meantime I did some reading and wrote a short story. Now I’m ready to get back to my novel and give it another pass through. I’ve thought about it a lot and planned what I want to accomplish in this next draft, but haven’t gotten around to starting it yet. I’m too busy, too tired, not in the mood, not in the proper mindset. There are any number of excuses, but no good reasons.

How about you? Is it hard to pick up those things you’ve been letting slide? I can’t be the only one. Leave your comments below.

As for me, now that I’ve gone public there’s some extra pressure. Tomorrow morning I’m going to jump out of bed and do some sit-ups. (Though it is getting kind of late. Maybe I’ll put it off for a few more days.)

Leave a Reply

Categories

