Posted by: Phil Anderson | April 20, 2014

It’s All Part of the Plan

My computer problems persist so I’m going to keep it short again, but I want to write down some familiar thoughts in light of this past Easter weekend.

The events of Easter, Christ’s death and resurrection, are the pivotal events of history, of the story God has created. Everything that happened before was leading up to it, and everything that has happened since is a result of it. And I’m struck by how complete and comprehensive God’s plan is. And not just the story itself, but the way it is recorded and told.

When I set out to write a story, I have a general idea of what’s going to happen in it. Some writers create a detailed outline or plot out their story meticulously, but not me. I know what the story is about, get a picture of most of the major events, and have a feel for how I want it to end, but the rest I make up as I go.

But that’s not how God works. From the moment Adam and Eve sinned, and even before, God knew how he was going to rectify that situation. Over the course of a few thousand years he revealed parts of his plan to Abraham, Moses, and dozens of prophets. Finally the plan was carried out, fulfilling every prophecy and yet with details so unexpected and unpredictable that dismissing and denying them takes a calculated effort.

If I were writing this story and wanted people to believeĀ it, I would not have done it this way. If the disciples or the early church were creating a fabrication, they would have done it differently. But this is God’s story and the truth is stranger than fiction, convincing me more and more of its veracity.

What do you think of the Easter story? Is it believable? Is it true? Leave comments below or e-mail me at ScribeofTheran@gmail.com

Responses

  1. I believe it’s true through life’s experiences and trust in this most Holy GOD!
    Without Him I would be nothing. In the eyes of the world, I am nothing. In God’s eyes, I am His child. Thanks, Phil, for giving us something to think about.


Leave a Reply

Categories

