Posted by: Phil Anderson | November 23, 2014

Two Year Anniversary – Why I blog

This post marks the end of my second year as a blogger. Next week I’ll start year three.

About a week ago one of my daughters asked, “Why should anyone read your blog?” It’s a good question, and the simple answer was to refer her back to my very first post: Why do I need a blog, and why should anyone read it?

But she does make a good point with her question. I write about my experience writing, but I’m not an authority on the subject. I’ve self-published a book and written a successful play, but I’m not a professional. I don’t have all the answers, and there’s no reason anyone should take my writing advice.

If I can’t come up with a compelling reason for someone to read my blog, why do I write?

  1. I’m a little bit stubborn. I decided to write a blog two years ago and I committed to posting something every week. I don’t want to break that commitment, even if it’s only to myself.
  2. It’s good for me to write for a deadline. I used to think about how much more progress I could be making on my other writing if I didn’t have to “waste” so much time on this blog. But honestly, if gave myself a choice I wouldn’t necessarily still spend this time writing. I might watch a movie or go to bed early on Sunday nights. This blog may not be my best writing, but at least it’s writing on a regular basis.
  3. I have thoughts and ideas that I want to share and there’s no better place than here. Also, I have a few loyal readers who want to hear those thoughts and ideas.

But a two-year anniversary is a good time to evaluate and make changes. One area I’d like to improve is the comments. I rarely get any discussion on my posts, and my number one commenter is my mom (love you, Mom). In order to promote more interaction I’m working on introducing topics that might be more controversial, not for the sake of starting arguments but to get a wider point-of-view.

Is this a good idea? What would you like to see here? What can I do to make this blog better as it enters its third year?

Leave a Reply

Categories

