Posted by: Phil Anderson | December 8, 2014

Merry Holidays and Happy Christmas

It’s that time of year again. The air is getting colder. Houses are decorated with sparkling lights. The mall is crowded with shoppers. And Facebook is filling up with memes about Happy Holidays vs. Merry Christmas.

As I weigh in, let me start by saying that I celebrate Christmas, the birth of Christ the Savior. For me, this time of year is centered on the Nativity, Mary and Joseph, shepherds and angels, wise men with gifts, and most importantly, Baby Jesus.

However, I am not offended by someone who says, “Happy Holidays.” I understand that not everyone believes the way I do. I wish they did, for their own eternal security, but I can’t force anyone to accept salvation and it’s not my responsibility.

Also, I don’t think it’s safe to assume that someone who says “Happy Holidays” has rejected the Christ of Christmas, and those who say “Merry Christmas” aren’t focused on Santa Claus, elves and reindeer, and the magical goings-on at the North Pole. Just because someone says something doesn’t guarantee they believe it, and their lack of saying doesn’t indicate rejection of it.

On a similar (non-holiday) topic, I’m reminded of the minor uproar when coins were minted without the phrase “In God We Trust.” My own belief in God does not depend on what the money in my wallet says. In fact, I rarely have much currency in my pocket, just plastic cards that make no mention of God. Removing the slogan from my money does not negate my belief in God any more than having it printed there guarantees it.

So as we enjoy the seasonal decorations and listen to holiday music on the radio, remember that we shouldn’t judge people by their seasons greetings.

What’s your opinion? Do you agree with me? Are you offended by different holiday wishes? Leave your comments below.

Leave a Reply

Categories

