Posted by: Phil Anderson | December 28, 2014

New Year, New Challenge

This week marks the end of one year and the beginning of another. It’s a good time to evaluate my goals and aspirations. Am I any closer to reaching them? Am I making progress? What can I do to keep moving forward?

movingfwd1

Writing is not my full-time occupation. I have a job, a family, and a busy life. Writing is something I do between other things, when I have the chance. So I don’t commit as much time to it as I’d like.

Writing is also a solitary endeavor. I work by myself, and no one else sees what I’m doing until I’m ready to share it. Because of that, no one but me knows how much progress I’m making, or even if I’m making any progress at all.

So what can I do in the new year to make myself more accountable and be more intentional about my writing?

I’ve signed up to join a critique group that starts the first week of January. I’ll have the opportunity to submit some of my writing so that other writers can comment on it. I’ll also have the responsibility to review others’ work and share my thoughts.

It’s not a heavy commitment; I’m not required to submit work. But think it will encourage me to be more serious about writing, to take advantage of the opportunity to improve myself and my writing.

What changes are you making in your life this year? Leave comments below. And Happy New Year!

Responses

  1. […] Last week I wrote about moving forward into a new year. This week I’m turning back to last year and looking at the ten most popular blog posts from 2014 (“most popular” meaning highest number of page views). Here they are in case you missed them: […]

  2. […] few weeks ago, when I was setting goals for this year, I decided to join a critique group. It’s a cooperative arrangement where writers can submit […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

