Posted by: Phil Anderson | March 23, 2015

Working for Free

Have you ever thought about the work you do that you don’t get paid for? I’m not talking about household chores like laundry or washing dishes. I mean special work, where you invest time and effort without any monetary compensation for your labor.

I do several things that fit this category. One of them is writing. I don’t make any income from this blog. I don’t have a publishing contract. My stories and manuscripts are all written “on spec,” meaning that someday someone might like them and want to give me money for them.

Another example is the work I do at my church, organizing, supervising, and teaching teenagers on an entirely volunteer basis. Other people do charity work or serve their community in various ways.

What makes us spend our valuable time and energy on activities that don’t provide monetary gain? It’s the knowledge that there’s more to life than money. Here are some of the non-financial reasons to work for free:

  • Enjoyment. It’s fun and it makes me happy.
  • A sense of accomplishment. I prove to myself that I can do this.
  • A sense of community. I help others, and make things better for everyone.
  • A sense of duty. Someone has to do it, and I’m as capable as anyone else.

How about you? What do you do that you don’t get paid for? Why do you do it? Leave comments below.

Responses

  1. I love the Lord my God and serve Him with gladness in all areas of service.

  2. Stumbled across your blog, and looks like you’re doing great things. I’m a Peace Corps Volunteer and am looking for people to help me out with a project for my English class in Mozambique. There’s more info on the Postcard Project tab on my blog. Let me know if you’d be able to help out


Leave a Reply

Categories

