Posted by: Phil Anderson | April 12, 2015

Christian Fantasy

“Christian Fantasy” is a strange combination of market and genre. It’s similar to the oxymoron of Christian fiction that I wrote about a couple of years ago, but it’s also very different.

I am a Christian, and my faith is a very important part of who I am. But when I began working on my fantasy novel, my first inclination was to avoid the topic of religion. I had created a world with strict rules and limited magic, and introducing any kind of religion seemed like opening an unnecessary can of worms. I planned to demonstrate faith and morality in a more subtle way. Since then though, I’ve re-thought that point-of-view.

It started slowly as I began to learn more about writing, the publishing industry, and the differences and challenges and benefits of the general market vs the Christian market. I learned that there is a small but growing market for Christian fantasy and needed a definition of what that meant. Jesus Christ did not die for the salvation of elves and dwarves, and the Bible does not look favorably on magic, dragons, and many other staples of fantasy literature. So how can you write a fantasy for the Christian book-buying market?

I started doing research, from C.S. Lewis’ Chronicles of Narnia to A Cast of Stones by Patrick W Carr, and discovered that many authors are writing allegories or parables about Christianity. They create a fictional religion that fits their world and their story, but is close enough to Christianity that they can still address issues of faith and morality and spirituality.

Next time I’ll share more of my thoughts about fantasy and religion, but now it’s your turn to participate. What’s your opinion of Christian fantasy? Do you enjoy seeing religion from a different point of view? Maybe you find “Christian fantasy” redundant. Leave a comment below or contact me by e-mail at ScribeofTheran@gmail.com

Responses

  1. I don’t usually read christian books in general because I read books for entertainment. I like to read fantasy books because they exercise my imagination. I like the idea of christian fantasy because it’s imaginative and entertaining while incorporating faith. I don’t read Christian fantasy much, but maybe I’ll start.


Leave a Reply

Categories

