Posted by: Phil Anderson | September 6, 2015

Minding My Own Busyness

After last week’s post on how busy life can be, the last few days have been even busier. So it only makes sense to expand on my thoughts, and look at busyness from a different perspective.

My mom commented last week about the things she and Dad still do, and it struck me that even in semi-retirement the busyness doesn’t let up. Everyone is always busy doing something. You may be busy working, busy driving somewhere, or busy watching a movie. In fact, if you’re not busy doing anything, you might be dead.

So why do we complain about being busy? What makes busyness seem so objectionable?

It seems to me that we don’t often complain about being busy doing things we enjoy. A fisherman doesn’t sigh heavily when he talks about the time he spent out on the lake. No one over the age of twenty gripes about how long they napped (unless it wasn’t long enough).

So perhaps my sense of being too busy is really a case of my time being spent doing things I feel obligated to do instead of things I want to do. In other words, it’s in my own attitude, my frame of mind. That leaves me with two choices.

The first is to eliminate the unnecessary things that make me feel too busy. If it’s not something I really have to do, why waste valuable time doing it?

The other is to evaluate why some things are important and use that as a motivation or encouragement, instead of the thing itself. For example, I’m not a big fan of mowing the lawn but it has to be done, both to keep my house looking nice and because it makes my wife happy. So I may feel too busy to mow the lawn, but I try to remember that I’m never too busy to make my wife happy.

What do you think? Are you too busy doing things that don’t really need to be done? Are you too busy doing things for the wrong reasons? Or maybe you’re happily busy doing what you love. Leave comments below.

Leave a Reply

Categories

