Posted by: Phil Anderson | December 6, 2015

Three Years…

It has been way too long since my last blog post. After posting faithfully every week for three years I’m taking a break, and I feel like I should make some excuses. I mean, offer explanations.

The main reason I’m stopping for now is that I’m running out of ideas. I sit at my computer, trying to decide what to write. Then, because of my self-imposed deadline, I tap out a few paragraphs on my keyboard and post them. Writing out of desperation does not produce my best work. Some future publisher or agent who seeks out my blog is not likely to be impressed.

Secondly, I have other things I’d rather be working on. I finished the third draft of my novel and have started on the fourth. I have ideas and the beginnings of a few short stories. But I’ve spent more time and written more words for this blog in the past few years than for any of my “real” projects.

Thirdly, my readership is very small and the amount of feedback I get is even smaller. There are plenty of other things to read online, and the end (for now) of this blog is no big loss.

I do intend to return some day. Perhaps when I have something ready to publish and I’m looking to build an audience for it. But for now I’m going to spend my time and efforts elsewhere.

Thanks for reading, and as always, feel free to leave comments below.

Leave a Reply

Categories

